The Pedometrics Commission has three awards to recognize the best papers in the field, up-and-coming talents, and pedometricians that significantly contributed to the advancement of pedometrics as a scientific discipline. These are:

  1. The Best Paper in Pedometrics (yearly),
  2. The Richard Webster medal (every 4 years), and
  3. The Margaret Oliver Award for Early-Career Pedometricians (every 2 years).

The Pedometrics Awards Committee is comprised of previous Richard Webster medal winners and early career scientist. They are chosen as to result in a fair gender balance and geographical spread.

The Medals are awarded by the Award committee and the Best Paper Award is awarded by the Award committee with help from the Extended Award committee. Medals and Awards committee members are appointed for a four-year term, with a possible extension to a second four-year term. New members are proposed by past members and through an open call. Appointment and approval of new members is made at the business meeting of the Pedometrics conference.  The Award committee is empowered to replace a member who resign and also exceptionally to appoint new members if the business meeting cannot take place. The Chair of the Award committee is usually the last winner of the Webster Medal.

The current committee members are:

Award committee 2022-2026

  • Budiman Minasny, The University of Sydney, Australia (Chairman)
  • Gerard Heuvelink, Wageningen University & Research and ISRIC – World Soil Information, the Netherlands
  • Murray Lark,  University of Nottingham, UK
  • Laura Poggio, ISRIC – World Soil Information, the Netherlands
  • Lydia Mumbi Chabala, The University of Zambia, Zambia

Extended Award committee 2022-2026

  • Tom Orton, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Colby Brungard, New Mexico State University, USA
  • Zamir Libohova, USDA-ARS Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center, USA
  • Ruhollah Taghizadeh-Mehrjardi, University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany
  • Joulia Meshalkina, Moscow Lomonosov State University and Russian State Agrarian University, Russia
  • Alice Milne, Rothamsted Research, UK
  • Yuxin Ma, Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research, New Zealand
  • Taciara Zborowski Horst, Federal University of Technology – Parana, Brazil
  • Bhabani S. Das, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
  • Nisha Bao, Northeastern University, China

Previous Pedometrics Awards Committee members

2018 – 2022

  • Murray Lark, University of Nottingham, UK (Chairman)
  • Sabine Grunwald, University of Florida, USA
  • Gerard Heuvelink, ISRIC World Soil Information and Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • Lin Yang, Nanjing University, Peoples’ Republic of China
  • Alessandro Samuel-Rosa, Federal University of Technology, Paraná, Brazil
  • Uta Stockmann, CSIRO, Australia

Period – 2018

  • David G. Rossiter, Cornell University, USA and ISRIC-World Soil Information, The Netherlands (Chairman)
  • Sabine Grunwald, University of Florida, USA
  • Alex McBratney, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Margaret Oliver, University of Reading, UK
  • Lin Yang, Nanjing University, Peoples’ Republic of China