Margaret Oliver Award for Early-Career Pedometricians Call for Nominations, 2021 award

 The Pedometrics Commission of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) makes a biennial award, which is intended to recognize up-and-coming talent in pedometrics. The award is named for Margaret Oliver, in recognition of her outstanding commitment to the promotion and encouragement of pedometricians in the early stages of their careers as well as her overall service to pedometrics. The award will be given at each biennial meeting of the Pedometrics Commission; the next award will be at Pedometrics 2021, Ubud, Bali, 14th-18th June 2021.

The previous award recipients are

2017: Dr Thomas G. Orton

2019: Dr Vera Leatitia (Titia) Mulder

Requirements and eligibility for the award of the Margaret Oliver award:

Nominees must have:

(1) received a PhD degree or equivalent no more than six years before the nomination deadline of 1st-February-2021; that is, the degree must have been awarded after 01-February-2015

(2) made high-quality contributions to pedometrics, as evidenced by published work, conference presentations, workshops, field guides, etc.

(3) at the time of the award be active in pedometrics and with a prospect of so continuing “Pedometrics” is broadly defined as the application of mathematics or statistics in soil science.

Nominations procedure

1) Nominations for the Margaret Oliver Award should be made by a colleague or colleagues who know the person’s work well — these do not have to be IUSS members or active in pedometrics. The proposer(s) should submit the following on behalf of their nominee:

(a) a supporting letter, of up to 4 sides of A4, signed by the proposer(s) explaining why this nominee should be awarded the Margaret Oliver Award, with respect to the conditions outlined in the section “requirements and eligibility” above.  The date of award of the nominee’s degree of PhD or equivalent should be clearly stated.  Please note that nominations which do not include a separate signed nomination letter which addresses the criteria for the award explictly will be returned for revision with no extension to the deadline.

(b) a curriculum vitae of no more than six pages that gives one or more the following, always showing clear relevance to pedometrics:

i. publications (journal, book, popular…)

ii. positions held

iii. research undertaken

iv. education of others

v. teaching courses developed

vi. leadership and management of research projects

vii. service (broadly defined) to the pedometrics community.

2) Nominations should be sent before 01-February-2021 to the Chairman of the Pedometrics award committee:

RM Lark at murray.lark(at) with the subject line “Oliver Award 2021”

3) The nominations will be evaluated by the award committee:

Murray Lark, University of Nottingham, U.K.

Sabine Grunwald, University of Florida, U.S.A.

Gerard Heuvelink, ISRIC World Soil Information and Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Yang Lin, Nanjing Normal University, Peoples’ Republic of China

Alessandro Samuel-Rosa, Federal University of Technology, Paraná, Brazil.

Uta Stockmann, CSIRO, Australia.

You may also like...